Mayor’s Office of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender and Questioning Affairs

DC Agency Top Menu

-A +A
Bookmark and Share

The Office of GLBT Affairs Announces 2013 Sheroes of the Movement Award Winners

Tuesday, March 26, 2013
The Mayor’s Office of GLBT Affairs is proud to announce the winners of the second annual Sheroes of the Movement Awards

The Mayor’s Office of GLBT Affairs is proud to announce the winners of the second annual Sheroes of the Movement Awards: Diana Bruce, Ruby Jade Corado, Ellen Kahn, Rev. Dyan Abena McCray, and Julie Ost. In honor of Women’s History Month, the Office has joined with the DC Department of Health, the Mayor’s Office of Community Affairs, the Mayor’s Office on Women’s Policy & Initiatives, the Mautner Project, Coca Cola, DC Concerned Providers Coalition, and Fathom Creative to honor these five lesbian, bisexual and transgender women who have made a significant contribution to the GLBT movement and community in the District. Nominations for the awards were submitted by the members of the Mayor’s Office of GLBT Affairs Advisory Committee, and the winners were selected by the women who serve on the Advisory Committee.

This year’s winners are extremely accomplished advocates, community members and District Government leaders.

  • Diana Bruce, Director of Health and Wellness for the District of Columbia Public Schools, leads DCPS’s school health office, developing policies, programs, systems and partnerships that enable local schools to provide school health services and supports for students. In this capacity, Diana initiated the development of DCPS’s efforts to make its school welcoming and inclusive of lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender and questioning students, staff and families. She also leads the community engagement process to develop DCPS’s framework and approach to preventing, identifying and responding to bullying.
  • Ruby Corado is the Founder and Executive Director of Casa Ruby, an organization that provides support services for the entire LGBT community with an emphasis on immigrant and transgender members of the community. Ruby has been a vocal advocate on behalf of the transgender community in DC for over 15 years.
  • Ellen Kahn, Family Project Director at the Human Rights Campaign, provides national leadership and expertise in public education and advocacy efforts to achieve full equality for LGBT families. Ellen was formerly the Director of the Lesbian Services Program of Whitman-Walker Clinic where she developed innovative educational programs for gay men and lesbians considering parenthood, and is the current President of the Board of Directors of Rainbow Families DC, the capital area’s support and education organization for LGBT-headed families.
  • Reverend Dyan Abena McCray is the founding pastor of Unity Fellowship Church Washington, DC and lives a life committed to social justice. She worked tirelessly and ecumenically with her fellow clergy colleagues for marriage equality in Washington, DC, and has also served on the board of directors for: DC Black Gay and Lesbian Pride; Transgender Health Empowerment; and The Mautner Project.
  • Julie Ost, Sexual Health Education Specialist at the Office of the State Superintendent of Education, provides health education oversight for DC public and public charter schools students and manages the local Youth Risk Behavior Survey administration of nearly 30,000 students. Julie also provides technical assistance and direct training to improve health outcomes and academic successes of DC students, especially of students of color who are also sexual minority youth, gender non-conforming and/or transgender youth. Julie also serves on the Board of Directors of HIPS and of HBI-DC.

The awards will be presented at a reception on Wednesday, March 27th, from 6 – 8 pm at Fathom Creative, located at 1333 14th St., NW. Reservations are required to attend: